Email ID : {{site_email}}
Contact Number : {{site_phone}}

Navratri 5th Day of Skanda Mata

Navratri 5th Day of Skanda Mata


Skanda mata is another durga roop of Devi parvati and she is worshiped on the fifth day of navratri parva. Skanda mata gets her name because of her son lord kartikeya as he is known by the name of Skanda as well as goddess parvati is the mother of him she is called as Skanda mata.



According to the legends once Devi parvati was in a meditative state along with lord shiva and there collaborative meditation gave birth to an energy source. Now, the news was spread across the universe about this source and also reached to the ears of the demon tarakasur and he wanted to steal it and use it for his own benefits, on realizing this devtas went into a grave fear and decided that they must do something to prevent this from happening,


Agni dev came forward and reached kailash and took away this energy source to secure it from tarakasur., when devi parvati came out of her meditative state she was outraged with anger and learned agni dev have stolen it, she followed him to kritti lok and in her outrage she took the form of durga and cursed all of them to be never be able to bore a child and agni dev was cursed to burn anyone comes in contact with him to ashes regardless of being good or bad, righteous or wrong. Finally shiva came forth and makes her realize the reason of this happening, Devi parvati then took her son on her lap and went to kailash.


Skandmata can be seen riding a lion wit kartikeya sitting on her lap. Those who worship the deity are blessed not only with her blessings but of Skanda dev kartikeya as well. Navratri is the most auspicious time to worship the deity.


Send your details for any Query from this form.


Navratri 2016

Navrati literally stands for ‘nine nights’. It is one of the most auspicious festivals. In India when the nine incarnations of Goddess Durga are worshipped on nine separate days. The tenth day is the Vijaydashmi, also celebrated as Dussehra. Read more...

Chaitra Navaratri 2016

Navratri is the festival which is dedicated to the nine incarnation of the adishakti known by the name of maa durga. The festival is widely celebrated across India, Nepal and some parts of Bangladesh and also among India community people across the world. Read more...

Vasant Navaratri 2016

Vasant Navaratri is out of four auspicious navaratri parv which is celebrated by hindus all over the world for the goddess durga and the other eight incarnations of the devi. Read more...

Shardiya Navratri 2016

Shardiya Navratri is dedicated to goddess durga like all others. This navaratri comes in the later months of the year and like all navaratri parva this one is also celebrated for nine and ten nights, the last night of the navaratri is celebrated as Vijaya dashami. Read more...

Ashadh Navratri 2016

Ashadh Navratri is out of four Navratri parva which is dedicated to maa durga and the other nine incarnation of adishakti, not much people know but Ashadh Navratri is also known by the name of gupt Navratri which is not known to everybody but a very few who realize its importance, the very word gupt means secret, hidden and not easily revealed. Read more...