Email ID : {{site_email}}
Contact Number : {{site_phone}}

Navratri 1st Day Shailputri Devi

Shailputri goddess is the first among the nine incarnations of adishakti or durga who are worshipped in the days of navaratri. The first day of navaratri is dedicated to the goddess. Shailputri is the other name of Devi parvati, the wife of lord Shiva and mother of lord ganesh and lord kartikeya.


This name Shailputri is given to the goddess as she was born to the king of the mountains Himalaya, so sometimes she is also addressed as hemwati. The goddess actually is the rebirth of Devi sati, according to legends Devi sati was the wife of lord shiva and daughter daksha prajapati.


The father daksha loved his daughter but despised his son in law shiva as daksha was the king of kings and shiva used to live as an aghori among everyone be it the dev, danav, daitya, asura, Chandal, gandarva and yaksh, Mahadev did not see any arrogance of being noble than the other but daksha did.


Once, he arranged a great yagna and called all the gods in it but did not invited his own son in law lord shiva this angered Devi sati and she came to make realize her father to repent form his sin and invite Mahadev in the yagna but he refused and instead of inviting shiva he insulted him to a great extent which angered devi sati to great extent and to make him realize his mistake she sat in the hawan kund of the yagna and burned her and she died, though shiva made daksha realize his mistake later.


She was then again born to shailraj Himalaya and was named parvati and got married to shiva. She is worshipped by remembering her in the navratri period once in chaitra month and once in the period of ashwin month both falls in April and October respectively.


Send your details for any Query from this form.


Navratri 2016

Navrati literally stands for ‘nine nights’. It is one of the most auspicious festivals. In India when the nine incarnations of Goddess Durga are worshipped on nine separate days. The tenth day is the Vijaydashmi, also celebrated as Dussehra. Read more...

Chaitra Navaratri 2016

Navratri is the festival which is dedicated to the nine incarnation of the adishakti known by the name of maa durga. The festival is widely celebrated across India, Nepal and some parts of Bangladesh and also among India community people across the world. Read more...

Vasant Navaratri 2016

Vasant Navaratri is out of four auspicious navaratri parv which is celebrated by hindus all over the world for the goddess durga and the other eight incarnations of the devi. This navaratri like all navratri is a celebration of nine days and ten nights. What is interesting about this navarati is that it is the most awaited navaratri our all four parva as it comes in the spring and autumn period of the year and is marked as the start of something beautiful and divine. Read more...

Shardiya Navratri 2016

Shardiya Navratri is dedicated to goddess durga like all others. This navaratri comes in the later months of the year and like all navaratri parva this one is also celebrated for nine and ten nights, the last night of the navaratri is celebrated as Vijaya dashami. Read more...

Ashadh Navratri 2016

Ashadh Navratri is out of four Navratri parva which is dedicated to maa durga and the other nine incarnation of adishakti, not much people know but Ashadh Navratri is also known by the name of gupt Navratri which is not known to everybody but a very few who realize its importance, the very word gupt means secret, hidden and not easily revealed. Read more...